Posted by: Grandma LaLa | January 31, 2010

January in retrospect

I set three goals as resolutions for 2010: 1) rediscover my creative, artistic side; 2) reclaim healthier habits in terms of eating and exercising; and 3) declutter some of the stuff that we have accumulated over the years.

January was a surprisingly satisfying month for those goals in retrospect.

1)  Creativity and artistry

Thanks to a glorious overnight “freezing fog,” I captured some lovely images of the plants and trees in our yard and the wetland in mid-January.  I posted a few of these in a newly created account on deviantart.com (an artist community where “deviation” refers to a modification of the original art or artist’s collection).  Click here to see my little portfolio.

This month also inspired me to start this blog and add its first entry.  A second step in my creative adventure for 2010.

2)  Eating and exercising

One great week.  Three not-so-great weeks.  OK, well, we’ll work on this one for February!

3)  Decluttering

My husband and I have chosen a fairly simple lifestyle.  We don’t acquire alot of technology.  We don’t accumulate alot of collectibles.  But we’ve still managed to assemble more “things” than I care to dust, clean, and/or organize on a regular basis.

With our effort to reduce expenses while he’s unemployed, we realized that we could sell some of these items.  That might give us enough income to have a few unbudgeted splurges, such as going to a Kane County Cougars baseball game this spring or playing miniature golf this summer.

My big step in January involved becoming not only a Buyer, but now also a Seller on ebay.  Woohoo!  Well, technically, I’m now listed as a Seller – I haven’t yet sold anything!  One step at a time, right?!

It was a nice surprise to discover that ebay now allows 5 free listings per month, which will get me started.  Only one photo or image per listing.  Only 7 days for the list.  And there’s still a charge from PayPal for the actual transaction.

We’ll see how it goes.  Option B is a yard sale in the spring!

Contact me here

Categories

